Reasons to be joyful in a dark world

I think we’ve all had a time in our lives when all we can do is to cry, “Why, God; why?” In a world full of sin, bad things happen. Things don’t go the way we want them to. Innocent people are punished for things they didn’t do. Wicked people go unpunished. Sin is twisted so that it looks harmless and pleasant. People who follow their convictions instead of applauding sinful relationships or actions are mocked or called bigots, as I’ve witnessed with my own eyes. Wickedness seems to prevail. David thought some of the same things.

 

Psalm 93:1-4

How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?
How long must I take counsel in my soul
and have sorrow in my heart all the day?
How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?
Consider and answer me, O Lord my God;
light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death,

lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,”
lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken.

 

That’s not all that David says, though. Take a look at the last two verses.

But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation. I will sing to the Lord, because he has dealt bountifully with me.

 

What did he just say?!? Let’s get this straight: David was just crying out in desperation about how terrible his life is, but he decides to rejoice and sing about it? Believe it or not, there are many reasons that we can choose to react in the same way that David did.

 

Because God wants you to be thankful regardless of the circumstance.

1 Thessalonians 5:18 “Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

 

Because we should be content in knowing that he will give us all that we need.

Philippians 4:19 “And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”

 

Because just as God promised to the Israelites, he will never leave or forsake us.

Deuteronomy 31:6 “Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.”

 

Because through him, we can endure all things.

Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”  

(If you want to know why I said “endure” when the verse says “do”, look at this video by John Piper! It’s super short) http://www.desiringgod.org/articles/the-secret-in-every-circumstance

 

Because God has rescued us from the darkness of the world,

1 Peter 2:9 “But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.”

 

So that we would be a light to the darkness of the world.

Matthew 5:16 “In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.”

 

Because everything in the life of a Christian, even things that appear to be bad, will be used by God for our good.

Romans 8:28 “And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”

 

Because your labor is not in vain.

1 Corinthians 15:58 “Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.”

 

Because we will be rewarded when we stand firm despite persecution.

Matthew 5:11-12 “Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.”

 

Because all of this is part of God’s plan. He is the one in control, working all things for good. Romans 2:4 tells us that God puts up with sin for a while out of his grace, so that some would come to repentance. This doesn’t mean that God will put off judgement forever. When the time comes, God will punish the wicked and reward those who have turned to him.

 

Will you praise God today through all circumstances like David did? How can you be a light to the dark world?

Leave a Reply

