Reflections on a quote by Hudson Taylor

“A little thing is a little thing, but faithfulness in a little thing is a great thing.” -J. Hudson Taylor

What impact might it have on our lives if we saw each task, whether great or small, as an opportunity to worship our Lord?

As I was working on school assignments today, I was told to convert eight temperatures from one temperature scale to another. Although the textbook didn’t specify, I knew that I was expected to convert them manually using an equation. Yet, if I asked the internet to convert it for me, the work would take at least half the time. I initially gave in to the temptation and used the internet to do my work for me. My conscience nagged at me for a while, until I decided to go back and redo them the proper way. I was surprisingly pleased with my decision to redo the problems, even though I was the only one who would know the difference. “Why?”, I asked myself. Was it simply a matter of “doing the right thing”?

The way in which we do mundane tasks tells something about our character. Though we may not realize it, we all have underlying principles that govern our actions. How we perform in small tasks affects how we will perform in other areas of life. You likely know the wise proverb of Luke 16:10 “One who is faithful in a very little is also faithful in much, and one who is dishonest in a very little is also dishonest in much.” It is crucial that we develop a strong worth ethic while we are yet young, or else we will struggle later on in life.

I often fall prey the false mindset that one math problem is simply one math problem, one dirty dish is simply one dirty dish, one basket of laundry is simply one basket of laundry, and one day of music practice is simply one day of music practice. Inwardly, though, I know that if I choose not to work out one math problem, put one dirty dish in the dishwasher, wash one basket of laundry, or practice music for the day, then I’ll continue to fail to do these things, and the result will be a low GPA, a dirty house, no clothes to wear, and the waste of thousands of dollars on music lessons.

Besides the long-term implications of my actions, there is yet a better reason for which I must to choose to be faithful in the mundane. God sees all of my actions, and he is either pleased or displeased with each of them. He is my Lord and Savior, and I am commanded to glorify him in all that I do. I should be grieved at the thought of displeasing my Father, the one who willingly became a sacrificial lamb led to the slaughter for my sake. Do I yet refuse to give honor to him in the smallest of actions, though he gave his entire life for me?

1 Corinthians 10:31- So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

Leave a Reply

